Barney Boomslang

Living a Second Life. In a Treehouse.

Rumors on Price Change for Islands

The Second Life Herald talks about rumors that island prices will go up – especially the monthly price will go to US$ 295 starting november. If that’s true, that will be hurting big parts of SL – because those are built on private sims and those either run in the “hey, it’s just 200 US$, lets do it for fun” or in the “pay 200, gain 400, try to make a living” mode. I know of friends who have sims in the “for fun” mode and I’m not too sure they will continue them with that price change … (and wether I will get my own sim, or will stick to my plot on the mainland now, I can’t say …)

In the same posting on the Herald are hints on “silent crashes” – well, I think I seen them yesternight at Subversive and Jincs (this pic and the following 20) wedding. The sim crashed, without any hint whatsoever. It crashed multiple times, even. No time dilation, no FPS down – it just went poof. Of course there was absolutely no reaction on the live help channel – seems live help is mostly dead in the water, due to the onslaught of new residents.

Update: Ok, Prokofy was dead right. So we now have to pay more for the same non-service and the same functionality – the Class 5 servers only help LL, but not content creators, as the same limits still apply to them. Isn’t that a wonderful world? And it’s not as if you couldn’t get a machine like their class 5 hosted with flat traffic around where I live for 80 EUR per month …

You can try to get an old sim on the mad last rush on the 1st of November – isn’t that nice of LL … but hey, they told some inner lists, so I am sure the right ppl will get the old price for their project, still … (damn, I’m starting to sound like Prokofy – thank you, Lindens)

And all that to get the money back in they blowed at the first place due to uncut and uncontrolled growth. Ading to the fat packet loss we still see inworld in many places. Adding to the still slow rezzing and still broken bandwidth limiting algorithm, to the bugs in the edit tools, the new and funny crashes in the client and the silent sim crashes (I don’t count in my problems in yongnam now – seems the machine is plain borked, we get far too many crashes on it and sim inventory scrambled, too).

Another update: adding insult to injury – that’s all I could think when reading Zee Lindens coment on the price rising post:

creasing the price of private islands is the first of many steps to rationalize our pricing and everyone should expect more changes in the coming months. We do not know at this time what those changes will be, but I hope that we’ll be able to identify segments of customers where we can offer discounts from our list pricing. Currently the only customer segments that receive discounts are educators and not-for-profits. There are no large corporations that receive discounts – and in fact – this increase was in part a recognition that large corporations are willing to pay much more than we were charging.

So because companies are willing to pay more, the private creators are kicked in the shins. What a funny and absolutely stupid move. Companies don’t provide the innovative content – they only hire boring builders doing boring builds. They build their idea of ad-topia, but not something along the “your world, your imagination” slogan. Oh, and we have to expect more of that stuff? How absolutely motivating to even invest anything into SL at all. I have to pay to keep my content – the stuff I built, I put my time in – being available. So, yes, LL has content creators by the balls – and now they start twisting. And try to make it sound like it is a good thing.

Suckers.

And another update: they delayed it till 15th November. That allows me to get my act together and plan carefully (instead the rather hasty plan thrown together today). Thanks.

Written by barney

October 29, 2006 at 10:49

Posted in Second Life

